Thursday, April 26, 2018
Worldwide Leader in Sports News
for the Deaf Community

His car broke down in Kentucky nearly 30 years ago. He got a job and stuck around.

By Josh Moore

kentuckyA career in high school athletics was something Billy Lange wanted ever since he was a star athlete at Florida School for the Deaf.

Danville, Ky., was not a stage where his childhood fantasies played. Lange had never even been to the town of about 16,000 before a loving gesture left him stranded in Boyle County for a week in the summer of 1988.

Read more:

Source: Lexington Herald Leader

Cochlear implants help deaf girl lead cheers at Bensalem High School

By Chris English

Bensalem HSAlice McGivern has the joy of leading cheers and — thanks to modern medical technology — the joy of hearing herself do it.

The Bensalem High School freshman has spent most of her 15 years overcoming obstacles, and making the junior varsity cheerleading team is the latest example.

Read more:

Source: Bucks County Courier Times

Rochester sweeps competition in Annual Homecoming Tournament

rochesterRochester School for the Deaf held our Annual Homecoming Tournament with teams from St. Mary's, Ohio and Pennsylvania School for the Deaf this past weekend.

The soccer games were played 8 v 8 format. We invited a local volleyball team, Destiny, to help fill out the schedule, all matches against Destiny did not count in the tournament. Two games were played in the round robin format.

Congratulations go out to the Wildcats for capturing both the Volleyball and Soccer Championships! (Contributed by Athletic Director Mary Cook)

Friday Results
Rochester 2 St. Mary's 0
Destiny 0 Pennsylvania 2
Destiny 0 St. Mary's 2
Rochester 2 Pennsylvania 0
Pennsylvania 2 St. Mary's 0

Saturday Results
Pennsylvania 2 St. Mary's 0 (Best of 3)
Rochester 3 Pennsylvania 0 (Best of 5- Championship)

Volleyball All Stars
Avion Henderson, Rochester
Yasmin Evans, Pennsylvania
Julia Ott, Rochester
Elise Watson, St. Mary's
McKenna Girod, Rochester
Trinity Rios, Pennsylvania

Friday Results
Game 1: Rochester 2 St. Mary's 1
Game 2: Ohio 8 St. Mary's 1
Game 3: Rochester 6 Pennsylvania 2
Game 4: Ohio 8 Pennsylvania 0

Saturday Results
3rd/4th Place Game: St. Mary's 4 Pennsylvania 3
Championship Game: Rochester 1 Ohio 0

Soccer All Stars
Thomas Coates, Rochester
Gulied Ali, Ohio
Nick Barrus, St. Mary's
Hazim Haroun, Pennsylvania
Levi Ruper, Rochester
Amin Ali, Ohio
Tre Vaughn, Rochester
Christian Lawrence, St. Mary's

New Lakewood Ranch swimmer medaled at 2017 Deaflympics

By Ryan Kohn

Lakewood Ranch HSAs swimmer Emily Massengale explodes from the starting block, she hears nothing.

No starting buzzers. No chatter of the crowd. No splash.

The Lakewood Ranch High sophomore is used to it. Her hearing loss began before her first birthday, likely due to a severe fever. At 14 months old, she was declared “profoundly deaf,” which means she can’t hear any noise below 90 decibels, or roughly the sound level of a jet airliner, according to her mother, Rene Massengale.

Read more:

Source: Your Observer

Staying strong for MS School for the Deaf

By Nell Luter Floyd

mississippiMore than 35 years ago, Gordon Weir set out to make a difference for athletes at the Mississippi School for the Deaf.

After trying to raise funds with a golf tournament and a Frisbee tournament, he took over a bodybuilding competition.

Read more:

Source: The Clarion-Ledger

Jesse Bailey named Athletic Director at Phoenix Day School for the Deaf

Jesse BaileyIt is with great excitement that we announce a new member to the Roadrunner Team. Jesse J. Bailey has been selected as PDSD's Athletic Director. Jesse "JJ" has over 14 years of certified experience working at New Mexico School for the Deaf and Texas School for the Deaf. He also has coaching experience at Model Secondary School for the Deaf, Maryland School for the Deaf, New Mexico School for the Deaf and Texas School for the Deaf. His most recent position was Athletics Specialist (Information/Operations Coordinator) at TSD. JJ brings a wealth of experience, passion and drive to school based athletics. He will officially begin his duties in July 2017. Please join us in congratulating and welcoming him!

Reprinted from Phoenix Day School for the Deaf Facebook page -

Page 1 of 7

Turkish Deaf Sport

20% Off + Free Shipping on all Fitness Items Now